Ticket
Paid event
Time
 - 
Location
Online - London, United Kingdom

Organised by The Guardian

IMPORTANT: You must pre-book to join this event via this link here

No Logo author Naomi Klein will be in conversation with climate activist Elizabeth Wathuti.

This event will be live streamed online and available to view on demand at a later time for all ticket holders.
Throughout her award-winning career in journalism, Klein has written urgently about the disaster that awaits us if we do not act to reverse the climate crisis. In How to Change Everything, written specifically for younger readers, she addresses the climate emergency, while also presenting empowering stories and tools for joining the fight for climate justice. Klein herself became an activist in her 20s, and at the centre of the book are a new, younger generation of protestors who have inspired her, including Elizabeth Wathuti.

Wathuti, one of the UN’s Young Champions of the Earth, has already, at the age of 25, taken huge steps in engaging other young people to address the challenges presented by the crisis. Having grown up in Nyeri County, revered for having the highest forest cover in Kenya, Wathuti founded an environmental club while in school. In 2016 she also founded the Green Generation Initiative, a tree-planting scheme that encourages young people to get involved in climate action.

They will join Guardian environment editor Damian Carrington, for a discussion about the most urgent crisis of our times, the young generation who have mobilised to fight it, and what we can all do to bring about change.
We are celebrating The Guardian’s 200th birthday with a digital festival featuring today’s leading thinkers, activists, artists and politicians. Join our specially curated programme of online conversations from wherever you are in the world. See the full lineup here and sign up to our newsletter for more announcements.

Running time: 60 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform and streamed globally.

6pm BST | 7pm CEST | 10am PDT | 1pm EDT

Organisers

Attendees — 9

 - 
The Guardian at 200: How to fight the climate crisis with author Naomi Klein and climate activist Elizabeth WathutiLondon, United Kingdom