ASOS Fashion Discovery Competition 2017: Meet The Judges

  • Kat Fitzakerly

Are you behind the next big brand? ASOS Fashion Discovery is investing in young talent and offering you the chance to win £50,000, your collection sold on ASOS and mentoring from our expert insiders.

The judging panel includes:

Nick Beighton, CEO at ASOS

Nick joined ASOS in 2009 as chief financial officer, working to drive the growth of the company as the world’s leading online brand for 20-somethings. In 2015, he was appointed chief executive officer.

Gemma Shiel, Lazy Oaf founder

Lazy Oaf began almost 16 years ago as a stall in Spitalfields Market selling illustrated men’s T-shirts. It now has 130 international stockists and Gemma has collaborated with everyone from ASOS to Dr. Martens and Disney.

Katie Baron, journalist and creative consultant

A writer, brand strategist, author and trends director, Katie works as global head of retail for Stylus. She has also published two books, Stylists: New Fashion Visionaries and Fashion + Music: Fashion Creatives Shaping Pop Culture.

Susanna Lau, Susie Bubble founder

Susanna is a British fashion blogger and influencer. Her blog, Style Bubble, was one of the very first most successful and widely recognised fashion blogs since it began over a decade ago in 2006.

Hilary Riva OBE, non-executive director at ASOS

Joining ASOS in 2014, Hilary brings a wealth of entrepreneurial expertise and 40 years of fashion experience, having acted as CEO of the British Fashion Council and MD of a number of high-street fashion retailers.

John Mooney, brand creative director at ASOS

John began his career at Alexander McQueen, where highlights included designing stage outfits for David Bowie. Now, he oversees all aspects of creative direction and production at ASOS.

Jo Hunt, head of womenswear buying at ASOS

Overseeing just under 500 womenswear brands on ASOS, Jo and her talented buying team work to constantly introduce fans of ASOS to the freshest, most exciting labels.


Entries for the first stage of the competition are now open until 30th October. Winners will be announced in May.

More details and the online entry form can be found here.