Ones To Watch

  • Karolina Johnson
  • Margarita Ktoris
  • Lucieli Rode
  • Chloe Macintosh
As part of our 70th anniversary celebrations, we've searched for the next generation of young design talent that will help shape the future.


Our 70 Ones to Watch have been selected from hundreds of entrants for their outstanding vision, ambition and potential to contribute to the UK’s reputation as a leading design nation.

We’re proud to showcase their designs as part of our 70th anniversary celebrations. For us, turning 70 isn’t about looking back at our history, it’s about looking ahead and thinking about designing our future.

Their showcase encompasses an array of disciplines – from architecture to textile design and most things in between – and they have taken on a range of relevant issues, pushing at the boundaries of what design should and could do.

Over the coming year, we will be celebrating the inspiring work of the Ones to Watch, highlighting each of the winners and the issues they have been tackling – so watch this space.


Our selection process had two parts. We asked leading designers to select 24 designers from other top shows and awards, and we selected a further 46 from an open online call for entries.

All the designers were assessed on how innovative, visionary and ambitious they are based on their submitted design, as well as how much potential they have to contribute to the UK's creative economy and reputation.

The following judges scouted at these top events:
Harriet Vine at New Designers Part 1
Malcolm Garrett at New Designers Part 2
Joanna Choukeir at Creative Conscience Awards
Michael Murdoch at RSA Student Design Awards
Paul Williams at RIBA President’s Medals Student Awards
Noel Farrer at Landscape Institute

We would like to thank our stellar line-up of judges for helping choose our 70 Ones to Watch:
Andy Altmann, Why Not Associates
Annie Warburton, Creative Programmes Director, Crafts Council
Assa Ashuach, Assa Ashuach Studio
Ben Terret, Director of Design, Government Digital Service
Ben Wright, Design Studio
Bethany Koby, Technology Will Save Us
Chloe Macintosh, Co-Founder of Made.Com
George Clarke, Architect
John Mathers, Design Council
Martha Lane Fox, co-founder of
Mat Hunter, Design Council
Rachel Coldicutt, Planning Director at a service design agency called Friday
Rama Gheerawo, Helen Hamlyn Centre
Rohan Gunatillake, maker of Buddhify app, Mindfulness and Technology
Rory Dodd, Designersblock