The Photography Annual 2017 - celebrating great imagery

Creative Review’s Photography Annual is an annual award scheme that seeks to celebrate great images – those who take them and those who commission them. Winning and selected work is showcased in a beautiful print issue and online.
We asked people to recommend magazines, brands, photobooks and photographers who they felt had been outstanding this year. The CR team took those suggestions and with the help of our panel of judges — came up with our winners. Overall winners were honoured as best in book.
This year's best in book included:
Nick Ballon and Alma Haser's Invisible Wounds project
Nadav Kander's portrait of Trump for the Time magazine cover
Viviane Sassen's work for Adidas Tennis by Pharrell Williams
Catheryn Hyland's series titled Universal Experience
Juno Calypso's editorial project A Girl's Guide to Egg Freezing
Nick Turpin's series On The Night Bus
(Featured below is an image from On The Night Bus)

The Creative Review editorial team also picks a few special award winners, recognised for their contribution to the art of photography.
Gucci: Photography brand of the year
Simon Baker, Curator of Photography at the Tate: Outstanding contribution to photography
Victory Journal: Magazine of the year
Lauren Greenfield's Generation Wealth: Photography book of the year
Richard Mosse's Incoming: Photography exhibition of the year
(Below is an image from Richard Mosse's Incoming)
Each year CR also recognises five emerging photographers with the Zeitgeist award, giving to artists we think have captured the mood and our imaginations in 2017. This year we picked Nadine Ijewere, Diana Markosian, Sian Davey, Kyle Weeks and Campbell Addy.
(Pictured below is an image by Diana Markosian)


  • Creative Review logo

    Creative Review

    • Design